广告
皇冠属于巴伐利亚红宝石和尖晶石 Parure。
宝石 珠宝故事

尖晶石——一点历史

历史的点滴和一些以尖晶石为特色的杰作——这种宝石曾经被误认为是红宝石。

还有……另一种 kynde 红宝石,它是尖晶石。

理查德·伊登 (Richard Eden),16 世纪炼金术士,摄于 1555 年

直到 1783 年,红色和粉红色 尖晶石 与红宝石混淆。 即使在尖晶石被称为精美的粉红色宝石之后,人们仍然称它们为“balas”或“balais”红宝石。 这个词源自阿富汗北部巴达赫尚省的一个古老词,那里有矿山。

这些 Kuh-i-Lal(“红山”)矿是公元 1 世纪世界上大型尖晶石的主要来源。 马可波罗(约 1254-1324 年)描述了如何只为国王挖掘“精美而珍贵的巴拉斯红宝石”。 国王本人拥有全部供应,他会将其作为贡品或“友好礼物”送给其他国王。

莫卧儿皇帝和他们的祖先帖木儿王朝非常重视大型 Kuh-i-Lal 尖晶石,因为它们的美丽和护身符。 结果,宝石被抛光而不是切割。 而且,这些人还经常刻上统治者和君主的名字来纪念他们。

卡鲁尖晶石

Victoria&Albert博物馆 在伦敦收藏, 卡鲁·尖晶石 上面刻有贾汉吉尔、沙贾汗和奥朗则布皇帝的名字。

卡鲁尖晶石 - Victoria & Albert Museum
卡鲁尖晶石——维多利亚和阿尔伯特博物馆,伦敦。
刻有莫卧儿皇帝贾汉吉尔、沙贾汗和阿拉姆吉尔铭文的尖晶石; 垂直钻孔; 两端镶有钻石的金别针; 丝线。 高 4 厘米,宽 2.3 厘米,重 133.5 克拉。
由 Rt 遗赠。 尊敬的朱莉娅玛丽,卡鲁夫人。

黑王子的红宝石

曾经进入欧洲皇家宝库的最壮观的莫卧儿尖晶石之一是 “黑王子的红宝石”. 这颗宝石是一颗未经切割的大型红色尖晶石,是残忍的佩德罗于 1367 年送给黑王子的。在阿金库尔战役中,黑王子的红宝石装饰在亨利五世的头盔上。 它现在属于英国皇冠上的皇家皇冠。

帝国皇冠和黑王子的红宝石
帝国皇冠和黑王子的红宝石。 英国皇冠珠宝,伦敦。
图片来自维基百科共享资源。

铁木尔红宝石

361 克拉的“帖木儿红宝石”同样是英国王冠上的宝石,被苏丹萨希布奇兰和“旁遮普之狮”兰吉特辛格收藏。 直到 1851 年,帖木儿红宝石才被认为是一颗红宝石,上面刻有五位前主人的名字。 1851 年,帖木儿红宝石在伦敦的万国博览会上展出,然后被重新归类为尖晶石。 世博会结束后,东印度公司的董事会将这颗宝石作为礼物送给了维多利亚女王。 它变成了她的私人财产,被她镶嵌在项链中 R. & S. Garrard & Co于1853年在伦敦举行。

帝汶红宝石
帝汶红宝石。
项链中央的“帖木儿红宝石”(尖晶石)属于包括沙贾汗在内的几位莫卧儿皇帝,与 224 年来自拉合尔的 5-1849 号一样。这条项链的设计目的是将 Koh-i-nûr 作为替代品中心装饰品,为维多利亚女王制作。
皇家收藏信托基金 / © 伊丽莎白二世女王陛下 2021。

一颗重要的抛光尖晶石装饰着俄罗斯的皇冠,是为 1762 年叶卡捷琳娜大帝加冕而制作的。

俄罗斯皇冠 - 这是一个精确的复制品,使用天然宝石和白金而不是银。

更重要的尖晶石珠宝

在 19 世纪,尖晶石切割遵循欧洲的理想,以最好地利用其精致的玫瑰色调和透明度。 19 世纪镶嵌的重要尖晶石包括 希望尖晶石重 50.13 克拉,并于 2015 年 XNUMX 月在新邦德街的邦瀚斯出售,慕尼黑国库中的特蕾莎王后的“红宝石”珠宝和现为威斯敏斯特公爵收藏的“巴格拉季翁”珠宝。

皇冠属于巴伐利亚红宝石和尖晶石 Parure。
皇冠属于巴伐利亚红宝石和尖晶石 Parure。 维基共享资源。
属于 Bagration Jewellery Parure 的头饰
属于 Bagration Jewellery Parure 的头饰。 图片来自 orderofsplendor.blogspot.com

您想了解更多关于收集尖晶石的信息吗? 然后前往 Bonhams 的网站并阅读 “收集101-尖晶石”.

广告

2条评论“尖晶石——一点历史=

  1. 是的,想了解更多关于尖晶石的信息,感谢分享信息。
    在erastyle.in 上查看我们最新的珠宝系列并选择我们最喜欢的设计| 访问我们的网站erastyle.in 以获得更漂亮和最新的系列。
    最新款珠宝

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

%d 博客是这样的:

Advertisements
Crown belonging to the Bavarian Ruby and Spinel Parure.
Gemstones Jewellery Stories

Spinels – a bit of history

Bits of history and some masterpieces featuring the spinel - the gem that used to be mistaken for a ruby.

There is also… an other kynde of Rubies which wee caule Spinelle.

Richard Eden, 16th century alchemist, in 1555

Until 1783, red and pink spinels were confused with rubies. Even after spinels were known as fine pink gems, people still referred to them as “balas” or “balais” rubies. This term derives from an ancient word for Badakhshan, a province north of Afghanistan, where the mines were.

These Kuh-i-Lal (‘red mountain’) mines were the world’s primary source of large spinels from the 1st century AD. Marco Polo (c.1254–1324) described how “fine and valuable balas rubies” were dug only for the King. The King himself owned the entire supply, and he would send it to other kings as tributes or as “friendly presents”.

Mughal emperors and their ancestors, the Timurids, valued large Kuh-i-Lal spinels for their beauty and as protective talismans. As a result, the gems were polished rather than cut. Moreover, these had often inscribed the names of rulers and monarchs to commemorate them.

The Carew Spinel

In the Victoria & Albert Museum collection in London, the Carew Spinel has inscribed the names of Emperors Jahangir, Shah Jahan and Aurangzeb.

The Carew Spinel - Victoria & Albert Museum
The Carew Spinel – Victoria & Albert Museum, London.
Spinel with engraved inscriptions to the Mughal emperors Jahangir, Shah Jahan and ‘Alamgir; drilled vertically; gold pin with diamonds at both ends; silk cords. Height 4 cm, width 2.3 cm and weight 133.5 carats.
Bequeathed by the Rt. Hon. Julia Mary, Lady Carew.

The Black Prince’s Ruby

One of the most spectacular Mughal spinels which ever entered a European royal treasury is the “Black Prince’s Ruby”. The gem is a large uncut red spinel that Pedro the Cruel gave to the Black Prince in 1367. The Black Prince’s Ruby adorned Henry V’s helmet at the Battle of Agincourt. It now belongs to the Imperial State Crown in the British crown jewels.

The Imperial State Crown and The Black Prince's Ruby
The Imperial State Crown and The Black Prince’s Ruby. British Crown Jewels, London.
Image from Wikipedia Commons.

The Timur Ruby

The 361-carat “Timur Ruby”, also in the British crown jewels, was in the collection of Sultan Sahib Qiran and Ranjit Singh, the “Lion of the Punjab”. Believed to be a ruby until 1851, the Timur Ruby has inscribed the names of its five previous owners. In 1851 the Timur Ruby was on display at the Great Exhibition in London and then reclassified as a spinel. After the Great Exhibition closed, the Court of Directors of the East India Company offered the gem to Queen Victoria as a gift. It became her private possession, set in a necklace by R. & S. Garrard & Co, London, in 1853.

The Timor Ruby
The Timor Ruby.
The ‘Timur Ruby’ (a spinel) at the necklace’s centre belonged to several Mughal emperors, including Shah Jahan, and like nos 224–5 came from Lahore in 1849. The necklace was designed to take the Koh-i-nûr as an alternative centrepiece, made for Queen Victoria.
Royal Collection Trust / © Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II 2021.

An important polished spinel decorates the Imperial Crown of Russia, made for the coronation of Catherine the Great in 1762.

Imperial Crown of Russia – this is an exact copy, using natural gems and white gold instead of silver.

More important spinel jewels

During the 19th century, spinels cutting followed European ideals to exploit their delicate rose hue and transparency best. Important spinels mounted during the 19th century include The Hope Spinel, weighing 50.13 carats and sold at Bonhams, New Bond Street in September 2015, the “ruby” jewels of Queen Therese in the Munich Treasury and the “Bagration” jewels, now in the collection of the Duke of Westminster.

Crown belonging to the Bavarian Ruby and Spinel Parure.
Crown belonging to the Bavarian Ruby and Spinel Parure. Wikimedia Commons.
Tiara belonging to the Bagration Jewellery Parure
Tiara belonging to the Bagration Jewellery Parure. Image from orderofsplendor.blogspot.com

Would you like to know more about collecting spinels? Then head to Bonhams’ website and read “Collecting 101 – Spinels”.

Advertisements

2 comments on “Spinels – a bit of history

  1. yes want to more about spinel , thank for sharing the information .
    Check our latest jewellery collection on erastyle.in and choose our favorite designs | Visit our website erastyle.in for more beautiful and latest collection.
    latest jewellery

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: