广告
救世主-闭上眼睛
拍卖会 佳士得 艺术作品

佳士得拍卖行的达芬奇(Leonardo da Vinci)的“救世主”:一个具有神秘色彩的杰作

重新发现了一个杰作。 将于15月XNUMX日在纽约佳士得拍卖行拍卖的“救世主蒙迪”(Salvator Mundi)是莱昂纳多·达·芬奇(Leonardo da Vinci)手中的一幅画作。

一件艺术品引起了深刻的情感反应。 天才:达芬奇。 重新发现的杰作 萨尔瓦托曼迪,还有一个谜。

 

的发现 萨尔瓦托曼迪 (“世界救世主”)在2011年引起了巨大的媒体轰动。

自1909年以来,这是第一次被列奥纳多·达·芬奇(Leonardo da Vinci)接受的画作被发现,这是一个了不起的发现,如果我们认为全世界范围内幸存的列昂纳多画作不足20幅。

极其稀有的艺术品以及最伟大的艺术签名之一,使这幅画变得无价。

列奥纳多(最有可能)私人收藏中的最后一幅画 萨尔瓦托曼迪 将作为 战后及当代艺术晚间拍卖 将于15月XNUMX日在纽约佳士得拍卖行. 估计将获得100亿美元。 

(点击此处阅读HJD对拍卖结果的报道)

评论这个非凡的艺术标本, 洛伊克·古泽(Loic Gouzer)纽约佳士得战后与当代艺术主席宣告:

“救世主蒙迪(Salvator Mundi)是有史以来最重要的画家创作的世界上最具标志性人物的画。 将这一杰作推向市场的机会是一生一次的荣誉。”

莱昂纳多的作品尽管创作于大约500年前,但对当今正在创作的艺术的影响力与15和16世纪时一样。 我们感到,在战后和当代晚间拍卖的背景下提供这幅画,就证明了这幅画的持久意义。”

 

救世主蒙迪·莱昂纳多·达·芬奇
莱昂纳多·达·芬奇,救世主蒙迪
胡桃板上的油。 面板尺寸:25 x 13厘米(16 17/15 x 16 65.5/45.1英寸)顶部; 底部17¾英寸(45.6厘米); 绘画图像尺寸:15⅜x17½英寸(64.5 x 44.7厘米)。 根据要求估算。

 

重新发现 萨尔瓦托曼迪 

新的 萨尔瓦托曼迪 发现发生在美国的一次小型区域拍卖中。 罩面漆严重遮盖了这幅画,新主人继续进行修复,同时研究并彻底记录艺术品,以证明其出处。

在此之前,值得一看电影 救世主蒙迪 存在 并非没有戏剧性。

这幅画的历史可追溯到1500年左右。 相信已经存在,部分是由于大师本人准备的红色粉笔画,目前在温莎的英国皇家收藏中,这种核桃板上的油被认为已被破坏。

众所周知,可以肯定的是艺术品属于查理一世。 (英格兰国王,1600年至1649年),出现在皇家收藏清单记录中。 查尔斯二世(Charles II)1666年在白厅(Whitehall)的皇家收藏中也提到了这幅画。

新的 萨尔瓦托曼迪 然后从1763年消失到1900年,此后又从查尔斯·罗宾(Sir Robin)手中购得,重新出现在库克收藏馆。

那时,真正的作者身份是未知的,因为这幅画的归属属于莱昂纳多的追随者贝尔纳多·路尼。 此外,艺术品还展示了大量的重新粉刷,从而大大改变了基督的脸庞和头发,显着改变了基督的特征。

然后将工作委托给 1958年在苏富比拍卖行,售价45英镑,之后又消失了, 直到2005年才重新出现 当一个美国房地产在一家小型美国拍卖行购买 少于7,500英镑.

黛安·德威尔·莫德斯蒂尼是纽约大学美术学院保护中心的Kress绘画保护计划高级研究员和保护人。 在2007年恢复了这幅画.

她回想起自己很可能正在恢复达芬奇的那一刻激动不已: “我的手在颤抖。 我回家了,不知道自己是否疯了。”

莫德斯汀尼博士在恢复绘画的同时,也非常注意记录每个细节,作品的保存状态和保存过程, 认为这幅画确实是莱昂纳多·达·芬奇的签名作品.

新的 萨尔瓦托曼迪 跟着 经典肖像描绘了基督身为世界救世主的半身像,他在祝福中举起右手时左手握着一个水晶球。

 

完美无瑕,几乎神似的美丽面孔从最深处的阴影中神秘地浮现出来,几乎超自然的穿透眼睛传达出压倒性的心理,情感和精神深层,在西方绘画中无可比拟。 〜 佳士得

 

救世主-闭上眼睛
莱昂纳多·达·芬奇,救世主蒙迪
牛津大学马丁·肯普(Martin Kemp)观察到,在左眼上方(我们所看到的右眼),仍然可以看到莱昂纳多“用脚后跟软化肉体所留下的痕迹”。
达·芬奇(Leonardo da Vinci),救世主-手工细节
莱昂纳多·达·芬奇,救世主蒙迪
基督的双手,精美的卷发,球体和许多布帘实际上都得到了很好的保存,并接近其原始状态

 

基督的两只手,精美的卷发,球体和许多布帘实际上都得到了很好的保存,并接近其原始状态。

此外,这幅画还保留了莱昂纳多最精致的作品所特有的非凡存在和令人难以忘怀的神秘感。

 

新的 萨尔瓦托曼迪 和球的奥秘

由国际学者组成的小组对这幅画进行了长时间的研究和阐述。 关于这幅画作者身份的共识是一致的。

但是,有一个细节引起了批评家的注意。

基督的宝珠代表王权,它是世界本身的象征。 莱昂纳多在球体中复制出的微小内含物表明,它应该由最纯净的石英石水晶制成-在文艺复兴时期被广泛认为具有魔力。

地球的实质以及球形的完美赋予了地球近乎奇迹的本质。

 

达·芬奇(Leonardo da Vinci),救世主(Salvator Mundi),球体细节
莱昂纳多·达·芬奇,救世主蒙迪
大量“ pentimenti”的发现为莱昂纳多的创作提供了有力的说服力证据,例如通过透明球体看到的左手掌

 

但是,一些专家想知道,为什么莱昂纳多(Leonardo)痴迷于如何在绘画中渲染半透明效果,如何捕捉光的奥秘,决定以这种方式描绘球体。 该异议导致对绘画真实性的危险猜测。

整件事都出现在19年2017月XNUMX日的《卫报》上,作者达莉亚·阿尔伯格(Dalya Alberge)签署了一篇文章,该文章现已成为佳士得对该报纸提起法律诉讼的对象。

了解原因非常直观。

文章引用了沃尔特·艾萨克森¹(WalterIsaacson¹),他在即将发表的有关莱昂纳多(Leonardo)的传记中质疑他所定义的“令人困惑的异常”,并写道: “从一个方面来说,它的绘制具有出色的科学精度……但是,莱昂纳多(Leonardo)未能描绘出通过实心的透明球体观察未触及球体的物体时会发生的变形。

固态玻璃或晶体,无论形状像球形还是透镜形,都会产生放大,反转和反转的图像。 相反,莱昂纳多将球体画成好像是空心的玻璃气泡,不会折射或扭曲通过它的光。

毫无疑问,这是一个有趣的观察,激发了人们对绘画和大师的学习和理解的兴趣。

话虽如此,作为这幅画的组成是一个平面的,像圣像的基督像,并且是一个完全体现艺术一致性的球体,我们倾向于同意佳士得的评论:

莱昂纳多的画作以其神秘性和含糊性而著称。 他非常熟悉光学和照明的技术和质量。 如果他以光学精度重新创建了图像,则背景将被扭曲。

“我们认为他选择不以这种方式来描绘它,因为这对于画的主题来说太过分心了。”

新的 萨尔瓦托曼迪 本身就是一次特殊的重新发现,“这是一次深刻的,感人的,令人回味的杰作”,肯定会引起收藏家的注意。

希望有钱的鉴赏家或一些博物馆能够将这幅杰作带到意大利,我们将于15月XNUMX日在纽约佳士得与您会合,进行一次历史性拍卖,可以肯定的是。 CC

 

在纽约(28月4日至13月16日)进行大规模预售展之前,佳士得将把这幅杰出的油画作品带到世界各地的重要地点,包括香港(17月21日至24日),旧金山(26月XNUMX日至XNUMX日)和伦敦(XNUMX月XNUMX日至XNUMX日)。

 


¹行情摘录自达莉亚·阿尔伯格(Dalya Alberge)在《卫报》上发表的文章。 这篇文章是佳士得对《卫报》提起法律诉讼的主题。

 

 

广告

对“佳士得拍卖行的达芬奇(Leonardo da Vinci)的“救世主”:一个具有神秘色彩的杰作=

  1. pingback的: 达芬奇的“救世主”进入拍卖历史 高珠宝梦

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

%d 博客是这样的:

Advertisements
Salvator Mundi - close up eyes
Art Masterpieces Auctions Christie's

The ‘Salvator Mundi’ by Leonardo da Vinci at Christie’s: a masterpiece with a mystery

A masterpiece rediscovered. The 'Salvator Mundi', a painting accepted as from Leonardo da Vinci, still in private hands, will be offered next 15 November at Christie's in New York.

A Work of Art stirring profound emotional reactions. A genius: Leonardo da Vinci. A masterpiece rediscovered, the Salvator Mundi, with a mystery.

 

The discovery of the Salvator Mundi (‘Saviour of the World’) caused a huge media sensation, in 2011.

It was the first time for a painting accepted as from Leonardo da Vinci to be discovered since 1909, an exceptional finding if we think that there are less than 20 surviving paintings attributed to Leonardo worldwide.

Extreme rarity, together with one of the greatest artistic signatures, build up to make this painting invaluable.

The (most probably) last painting by Leonardo in a private collection, the Salvator Mundi will be offered as a unique lot in the Post-War and Contemporary Art Evening Sale next 15 November at Christie’s, in New York. It is estimated to fetch $100 million. 

(click here to read HJD coverage of the auction results)

Commenting on this extraordinary art specimen, Loic Gouzer, Chairman, Post-War and Contemporary Art at Christie’s in New York declares:

“Salvator Mundi is a painting of the most iconic figure in the world by the most important artist of all time. The opportunity to bring this masterpiece to the market is an honour that comes around once in a lifetime.”

“Despite being created approximately 500 years ago, the work of Leonardo is just as influential to the art that is being created today as it was in the 15th and 16th centuries. We felt that offering this painting within the context of our Post-War and Contemporary Evening Sale  is a testament to the enduring relevance of this picture.”

 

Salvator Mundi, Leonardo da Vinci
Leonardo da Vinci, Salvator Mundi
Oil on walnut panel. Panel dimensions: 25 13/16 x 17 15/16 in (65.5 x 45.1 cm) top; 17¾ in (45.6 cm) bottom; Painted image dimensions: 15⅜ x 17½ in (64.5 x 44.7 cm). Estimate on request.

 

Rediscovering the Salvator Mundi 

The Salvator Mundi discovery happened in a small, regional auction in the United States. Overpaints were heavily veiling the painting, and the new owners went ahead with the restoration while researching and thoroughly documenting the work of art in the attempt of proving its provenance.

Before this moment, worth of a movie, the Salvator Mundi’s existence was not without some drama.

The painting was dated from around 1500. Believed to have existed, partly thanks to preparator red-chalk drawings by the Master himself that are currently in the English Royal Collection at Windsor, this oil on walnut panel was presumed to have been destroyed.

What is known and sure is that the work of art belonged to Charles I (King of England, 1600-1649) as it appears in the royal collection inventory records. The painting is also mentioned in Charles II’s 1666 inventory of the royal collection at Whitehall.

The Salvator Mundi then disappeared from 1763 until 1900, when it resurfaced as an acquisition from Sir Charles Robin, for the Cook Collection.

At that time the real authorship was unknown, as the painting’s attribution went to Bernardo Luini, a follower of Leonardo. Also, the work of art was showing an extensive repainting, which significantly altered Christ’s face and hair, prominently changing his features.

The work was then consigned to auction, at Sotheby’s, in 1958 for £45, after which it disappeared again, to resurface only in 2005 when an American estate purchased it at a small American auction house for less than £7,500.

Dianne Dwyer Modestini, Senior Research Fellow and Conservator of the Kress Program in Paintings Conservation at the Conservation Centre of the Institute of Fine Art, New York University, is the curator who restored the painting in 2007.

She recalls the excitement the moment she realised that she was most probably restoring a da Vinci: “My hands were shaking. I went home and didn’t know if I was crazy.”

Dr Modestini, while restoring the painting, also took great care in documenting every single detail, the work’s state of preservation and the conservation process, concluding that the painting was indeed an autograph work by Leonardo da Vinci.

The Salvator Mundi follows the classic iconography, depicting a half-length figure of Christ as Saviour of the World, holding a crystal orb in his left hand as he raises high right in benediction.

 

The flawless, almost divinely beautiful face that emerges mysteriously from the deepest of shadows, the almost supernaturally penetrating eyes which convey an overwhelming psychological, emotional and spiritual profundity, have no parallels in Western painting. ∼ Christie’s

 

Salvator Mundi - close up eyes
Leonardo da Vinci, Salvator Mundi
Above the left eye (right as we look at it), are still visible the marks that Leonardo ‘made with the heel of his hand to soften the flesh,’ as Martin Kemp, University of Oxford, has observed
Leonardo da Vinci, Salvator Mundi - hand detail
Leonardo da Vinci, Salvator Mundi
Both of Christ’s hands, the exquisitely rendered curls of his hair, the orb, and much of his drapery are in fact remarkably well preserved and close to their original state

 

Both of Christ’s hands, the exquisitely rendered curls of his hair, the orb, and much of his drapery are in fact remarkably well preserved and close to their original state.

Also, the painting retains a remarkable presence and haunting sense of mystery that is characteristic of Leonardo’s most exquisite works.

 

The Salvator Mundi and the mystery of the orb

The study and examination of the painting were long and articulated, carried by a panel of international scholars. The consensus on the painting’s authorship was unanimous.

However, one detail caught the attention of the critics.

Christ’s orb represents kingship, and it is a symbol of the world itself. The tiny inclusions that Leonardo reproduced in the orb indicate that it should be made of rock crystal, the purest form of quartz – widely believed in the Renaissance to possess magical powers.

The substance of the globe, as well as the perfection of its spherical form, endows it with a nearly miraculous essence.

 

Leonardo da Vinci, Salvator Mundi, detail of the orb
Leonardo da Vinci, Salvator Mundi
Powerfully convincing evidence of Leonardo’s authorship was provided by the discovery of numerous “pentimenti”, such as in the palm of the left hand seen through the transparent orb

 

However, some experts are wondering why Leonardo, obsessed with how to render the translucent effects in painting, how to capture the mysteries of light, decided to depict the orb the way he did. This objection caused dangerous speculation over the painting’s authenticity.

The whole matter appeared in The Guardian last 19 October 2017 in an article signed by Dalya Alberge – an article that is now the object of a legal complaint by Christie’s against the newspaper.

It is quite intuitive to understand why.

The article cited Walter Isaacson¹ who, in his forthcoming biography on Leonardo, is questioning what he defined as a “puzzling anomaly”, writing: “In one respect, it is rendered with beautiful scientific precision … But Leonardo failed to paint the distortion that would occur when looking through a solid clear orb at objects that are not touching the orb.

“Solid glass or crystal, whether shaped like an orb or a lens, produces magnified, inverted, and reversed images. Instead, Leonardo painted the orb as if it were a hollow glass bubble that does not refract or distort the light passing through it.”

An intriguing observation for sure, stirring to study and understand both the painting and the Master even more.

Having said this, being the painting’s composition a flat, icon-like, figure of Christ, and being the orb represented in full artistic consistency, we tend to agree with Christie’s comment:

“Leonardo’s paintings are known for their mystery and ambiguity. He was intimately familiar with the technicality and qualities of optics and light. If he had recreated the image with optical exactitude, the background would have been distorted.

“It is our opinion that he chose not to portray it in this way because it would be too distracting to the subject of the painting.”

The Salvator Mundi is an exceptional rediscovery per se, “a profoundly moving, affecting and evocative masterpiece” that will surely excite collectors’ attention.

Hoping that a wealthy connoisseur, or some museums, will be able to bring this masterpiece to Italy, we give you rendezvous next 15 November, at Christie’s in New York, for a historical auction that, for sure, will be remembered. CC

 

Before an extended pre-sale exhibition in New York (28 October to 4 November), Christie’s will tour this exceptional painting to key locations around the world, including Hong Kong (13-16 October), San Francisco (17-21 October) and London (24-26 October).

 


¹Quote taken from an article appeared in The Guardian, by Dalya Alberge. This article is the subject of a legal complaint by Christie’s against The Guardian.

 

 

Advertisements

1 comment on “The ‘Salvator Mundi’ by Leonardo da Vinci at Christie’s: a masterpiece with a mystery

  1. Pingback: Da Vinci's 'Salvator Mundi' enters auction history | HIGH JEWELLERY DREAM

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this:

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close